Here’s something new I’ve just stumbled across. Iron Void are a doom metal band hailing from Wakefield, Yorkshire.

Jonathan "Sealey" Seale
Jonathan “Sealey” Seale

Originally formed in late 1998, the band’s lineup consisted of bassist / vocalist Jonathan “Sealey” Seale, guitarist Andy Whittaker, vocalist Paul Whale and drummer Damien Park.

The group split in 2000, with no releases to their name, but reformed in 2008 with Seale and Park being joined by guitarist / vocalist Steve Wilson (not to be confused with Steve Wilson, formerly of Porcupine Tree!).

Iron Void - Iron Void
Iron Void – Iron Void

The new band’s first studio album “Iron Void” was released in 2014 – adorned with a distinctive cover art hinting at psychedelia and occultism and somewhat reminiscent of fellow doom metal band Electric Wizard – to some very good reviews.

Damien Park
Damien Park

Now sees album number two hitting the shelves, in the form of “Doomsday”. Produced by Chris Fielding (Winterfylleth, Conan) and recorded at Skyhammer Studios in Cheshire. The group’s stated influences include Black Sabbath, Pentagram and Saint Vitus, which is clear to hear in their recorded output, but they have enough of their own take on doom and personality to stand out as something a little different from their influences.

Steve Wilson
Steve Wilson

“Doomsday” is a more varied piece of work then the debut album, with a greater range of tempo and texture explored, whilst still remaining very much in the doom metal camp.

My favourite numbers here include “The Devil’s Daughter”, “Upon The Mountain”, “Eye For An Eye” and “Gates Of Hell”.

Iron Void Live In 2015
Iron Void Live In 2015

Iron Void are not an especially original band, and I suppose there’s only so much you can do with doom metal before it becomes a different beast altogether.

What seems clear, however, listening to this record is how sincere the band are in what they do and how much fun they have while they’re at it. This is very much traditional doom metal, and very welcome it is too. Very impressive…

12003223_10153246534772833_6138986978186293523_n“Doomsday” tracklist:

1. Doomsday / 2. Path To Self Destruction / 3. The Devil’s Daughter / 4. Lost Faith / 5. Gates Of Hell / 6. Eye For An Eye / 7. The Answer Unknown / 8. Colosseum / 9. Fire Nerve / 10. King Of Utopia / 11. Upon The Mountain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s