Tag Archives: Wolf

One Body. Six Victims. And A Detective Coming Apart At The Seams…

“A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed the ‘Ragdoll’ by the media.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them.

With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?…”

“Ragdoll” is the first book in what I believe the author Daniel Cole intends to be a series featuring the character of police detective William Fawkes. According to a story in the Guardian last year, Bournemouth-based Cole was signed for a three book publishing and TV deal for the fledgling series – at which time the detective’s name appears to have been Nathan Wolfe. Now that the first book is out the Wolfe has become “Wolf” and is the nickname for the Fawkes character.

Wolf is a detective with a lot of baggage – more than your average crime fiction detective in fact. Said baggage includes his spell in a psychiatric hospital following a brutal attack, in court, on accused killer Naguib Khaled when a case falls apart. As well as this there is a complicated relationship with fellow police officer DS Emily Baxter and the existence of his TV journalist ex-wife Andrea.

When a stitched-together “Ragdoll” is discovered in a flat opposite the one in which Wolf now resides he finds himself on the case along with Baxter. When Andrea receives a list detailing the killer’s intended targets – as well as the dates on which they are to die – the investigation becomes increasingly personal.

Daniel Cole

Unfortunately Wolf doesn’t work well with the investigating team, preferring to work alone and keeping Baxter and her trainee partner Edmunds at arm’s length as much as possible.

Somehow, despite the police taking elaborate precautions, the killer manages to find his victims and dispatch them in a variety of ingenious ways. Who is this mysterious killer and where does he get his inside information from?

Although I found Wolf to be perhaps a little too larger than life I did enjoy the way the story and relationships between the main characters were portrayed. Cole has obviously got a great imagination when it comes to clever killings and did a very good job in plotting the whole tale so that you never really get a handle on what’s going on until the end.

The climax of the book does make me wonder quite how Cole will take the series forward with Wolf and Baxter in tandem but I look forward to finding out when the second book hits the shelves…


The Nightmare Returns…

“I believe, from what I can hear, that either my daughter or my wife has just been attacked. I don’t know the outcome. The house is silent.

Fourteen years ago two teenage lovers were brutally murdered in a patch of remote woodland. The prime suspect confessed to the crimes and was imprisoned.

Now, one family is still trying to put the memory of the killings behind them. But at their isolated hilltop house… the nightmare is about to return”


I first discovered the novels of Mo Hayder with the publication of “Ritual” in 2008, attracted initially by not just the premise of the book, but also the location setting – in and around Bristol and Bath.

Having spent a large part of my life living in that area, I found that the knowledge of the area being described within the book enabled me to mentally visualise the settings and added a stronger sense of relating that I don’t get when reading a thriller set abroad.

“Wolf” is the seventh book featuring Detective Inspector Jack Caffery, and the fifth book in the Walking Man series that began when the author relocated the detective from London to Bristol.

The story concerns Oliver Anchor-Ferrers, his wife Matilda and daughter Lucia, returning to their isolated home following Oliver’s hospitalisation for heart surgery. Matilda goes to look around her beloved garden, only to be confronted by a horrible and gruesome reminder of a particularly nasty double murder that took place locally some fourteen years previously.

Fearing that the murderer has been released from prison, upon returning to the house, the family discover that the phone lines are down and that they are effectively cut off from the outside world.

Two police detectives arrive at the house – but in time we see that they, and other characters, are in no way what they initially appear to be.

Mo Hayder
Mo Hayder

Both Jack Caffery and the Walking Man have their parts to play in this story, and the almost telepathic nature of some of their interactions cleverly help to move things along. That said, I feel that the book would also hold up well as a standalone story even without the ongoing saga of both men’s missing relatives.

Hayder always keeps you guessing with numerous twists and turns, and this latest novel is no exception.

Parts of the larger puzzle are revealed gradually, with the whole picture not becoming clear until the final pages of this superb crime thriller.

A highly recommended addition to the series of Jack Caffery novels.